Dual Interviews: A Teacher and a Student

This summer, the Lessac Institute renewed its connection with Angel Amaro-Sánchez, a teacher in San Juan, Puerto Rico, and two of his students, Richard Martínez Sánchez and Elga Sepúlveda. Richard and Elga attended the Summer Intensive at Depauw University in June and July, and Deborah Kinghorn and Robin Carr travelled to San Juan to work and play with Amaro-Sánchez and his students. The Buzz asked both teacher and student to share a few thoughts on Lessac. The Editors would like to thank Elga Sepúlveda for her interviewing and translating assistance.

Deborah Kinghorn leads workshop participants in San Juan Puerto Rico

Buzz: Tell us a little about yourself!

Angel: My name is Angel Amaro-Sánchez.  I am a Spanish teacher for the public school system in Puerto Rico since 1966.  In 1973 I became an acting teacher for the public school’s first theater project in San Juan.  It gave me the opportunity to introduce Lessac to the students. After a while, I became its Principal (1990) and the school was relocated to Old San Juan at the José Julián Acosta School.

 Richard: My name is Richard Martínez Sánchez. I’m in my last year of the Theatre B.A. at the University of Puerto Rico. I also studied in the Classical Mime School of Puerto Rico and of course I have been training in Lessac with Angel Amaro for the last two years.

Buzz: How did you learn about Lessac’s  work?

Angel: I did my graduate studies at the Dallas Theater and there I became familiar with Lessac’s work for the first time.  My diction class was based on his methods.

Richard: When I met Angel, he was working with one of his plays based on Lessac’s work. They offered me work in the production as an actor if I went to learn and train with him. So, that’s where everything started.

Buzz: What was your first impression of Arthur?

 Angel: I met Arthur in the summer of 1971 at Trinity University in San Antonio for his workshop. Arthur was so kind to me when he knew that I spoke Spanish.  He told me that the Spanish language moved him with its music and rhythm to create something that English should have. Those words told me that I should follow him. I really loved him.

Richard:  If you are asking about Arthur and not his work, I never met him. But sometimes people say that by studying someone’s work you can get to know them. If it is true, for me Arthur was a genius, how he exploited each human capacity, showing everyone that you can do whatever you want if you know your body.

Elga Sepulveda and Robin Carr waft and wave in San Juan

Buzz: What opportunities do you have to apply Lessac explorations to other things you do?

Angel: I was training Miss Universe Puerto Rico candidates for three years.  Also, I worked with a TV sports narrator and a student that planning to study in France.  His mother was a lawyer and she wanted him to have good diction in Spanish.

 Richard: To train in mime, it’s a great tool.

Buzz: What is the effect of the Spanish language on the Lessac work you do?

Angel: I did many explorations to adapt the Lessac’s  work to Spanish. If Spanish had motivated him, I thought that I could explore how the Spanish consonants could sound using a good megaphone in the right position.

Richard: The effect of the Spanish language is huge because Lessac always said he wants Spanish musicality in the English language.

Buzz: What is your favorite aspect of Lessac?

Angel: I really enjoy how characters speak following Lessac work.

Richard: Lessac’s work is easy to understand. For me this is a good technique for actors, since we are always taking care of our bodies and voices.

Buzz: How do you see the future of Lessac?

Angel: I think that it’s natural for the human being to produce sounds that any language could discover.  I am committed to continue exploring Lessac in Spanish and to take it to other Spanish-speaking countries.

Richard: I see Lessac’s work as an acting technique.

Buzz: How has Lessac work made a difference in your life?

Angel: I never had the experience to study English phonetics and I knew that his work would be a different way to learn English pronunciation.

Richard:  It made a huge difference when I trained as a mime. It’s amazing how I could do every exercise without pain and just have fun. Also, the study of body NRGs shows me another way to create characters.

Leave a comment